Return to Home Page       Real Estate
Things to See History Getting Here

A Brief History:
 1773 and before: Early Settlers
 1777: One of 8 Original Georgia Counties
 1779: Revolutionary War Battle
 1780: Washington Incorporated
 1780: Temporary Georgia Capital
 1790: Home to 38% of Georgia's Population
 1795: Eli Whitney & Cotton
 1865: Lost Confederate Gold
 1865: Last Meeting of Confederacy
 Legacies: Counties, Governors, Gospel
 Today: History Preserved

Lost Gold
Historical Markers
A List of Firsts

Today: History Preserved Hillhouse House historical marker

  Many of the area's famous landmarks are still standing, and others are appropriately marked. The full-texts of the state historical markers, as well as those placed by other organizations, are listed for Wilkes County, as well as the adjacent Lincoln and Taliaferro Counties.

The area of Washington, Georgia, and Wilkes County's is proud of its rich history and its ongoing preservation efforts.