Return to Home Page       Real Estate
Things to See History Getting Here

A Brief History:
 1773 and before: Early Settlers
 1777: One of 8 Original Georgia Counties
 1779: Revolutionary War Battle
 1780: Washington Incorporated
 1780: Temporary Georgia Capital
 1790: Home to 38% of Georgia's Population
 1795: Eli Whitney & Cotton
 1865: Lost Confederate Gold
 1865: Last Meeting of Confederacy
 Legacies: Counties, Governors, Gospel
 Today: History Preserved

Lost Gold
Historical Markers
A List of Firsts

1790: A booming area of the state

Wilkes County Courthouse   The first United States Census in 1790 showed that 31,500 of the 82,548 people living in Georgia resided in Wilkes County, the majority of settlers coming from Virginia and North Carolina. From the original Wilkes nine other counties were taken. It is from this area that Georgia has been populated. Wilkes originally embraced Elbert (1790), Lincoln (1796), and Oglethorpe (1793) counties; and in part, Madison (1811), Taliaferro (1825-28), Warren (1793), Hart (1853), McDuffie and Greene counties.

Next Slide