Return to Home Page       Real Estate
Things to See History Getting Here

A Brief History:
 1773 and before: Early Settlers
 1777: One of 8 Original Georgia Counties
 1779: Revolutionary War Battle
 1780: Washington Incorporated
 1780: Temporary Georgia Capital
 1790: Home to 38% of Georgia's Population
 1795: Eli Whitney & Cotton
 1865: Lost Confederate Gold
 1865: Last Meeting of Confederacy
 Legacies: Counties, Governors, Gospel
 Today: History Preserved

Lost Gold
Historical Markers
A List of Firsts

1777: Wilkes, one of eight original Georgia counties Rapid Transit in 1910

  In 1777, one year after the Declaration of Independence, the Executive Council redesignated the "ceded lands" of the Creek and Cherokee Nations as Wilkes County, making it one of the eight original counties of the new State of Georgia. The lands were acquired by the Royal Governor, James Wright, from the Indian tribes in satisfaction of debts due to the traders.

Wilkes County was names for John Wilkes, a Colonial supporter in the British House of Commons, who became one of the earliest martyrs in England to the right of a Free Press.

Next Slide