Return to Home Page       Real Estate
Things to See History Getting Here

A Brief History:
 1773 and before: Early Settlers
 1777: One of 8 Original Georgia Counties
 1779: Revolutionary War Battle
 1780: Washington Incorporated
 1780: Temporary Georgia Capital
 1790: Home to 38% of Georgia's Population
 1795: Eli Whitney & Cotton
 1865: Lost Confederate Gold
 1865: Last Meeting of Confederacy
 Legacies: Counties, Governors, Gospel
 Today: History Preserved

Lost Gold
Historical Markers
A List of Firsts

Legacies: Counties, Governors, Gospel Tupper House

  Seventeen counties of Georgia have been named for men of note who at one time resided in Wilkes: Heard, Clarke, Dooly, Taliaferro, Talbot, Rabun, Campbell, Early, Bibb, Echols, Meriwether, Forsyth, Ware, Towns, Lumpkin, Terrell, and Toombs.

Of the first thirteen governors, eleven were from original Wilkes including Heard, Mathews, Clark, Talbot, Early, Lumpkin, Rabun, Towne, Ware, and Forsyth.

George Walton, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, was a large landowner and first circuit judge in Wilkes.

Four pioneer ministers of the gospel resided in Wilkes: Jesse Mercer, John Springer, Hope Hull, and James Osgood Andrew.

Next Slide