Return to Home Page       Real Estate
Things to See History Getting Here
Historical Markers

Historical Structures, Houses, & Sites
Campbell Home
The Cedars
Historic Dugas Home
First Methodist Church
Fishing Creek Baptist Church
Fort Washington Park
Gilbert-Alexander House
Home of Sarah Hillhouse
Holly Court
Independence United Methodist Church
Jesse Mercer's Home
Phillips Mills Baptist Church
Pope's Chapel United Methodist Church
Rock Methodist Church Wilkes County
Smyrna Church
Smyrna Churchyard
Home of Robert Toombs
The Tupper House
Washington Presbyterian Church
Washington-Wilkes Historical Museum
Wilkes County

Civil War
Revolutionary War
Historical Figures
Sites of Former Structures
Sites of Historical Events
Lincoln County Markers
Taliaferro County Markers

Wilkes County
Georgia Historical Marker Seal

  Wilkes County, an original county, was created by the Constitution of Feb. 5, 1777, from Creek and Cherokee Cessions of June 1, 1773. At first, it contained all of Oglethorpe, Elbert, Lincoln and parts of Taliaferro, Hart, Warren and Madison Counties. It was named for John Wilkes (1727-1797), English politician and publicist, who strenuously opposed measures leading to war with the colonies. First County Officers were: John Dooly, Sheriff, comm. Feb. 9, 1778; Samuel Creswell, Surveyor, comm. Feb. 18, 1783; Benjamin Catching, Clk. of Sup. and Inf. Cts, comm. Jan. 2, 1785; Howell Jarrett, Coroner, comm. 1790.

Located on Court Street at the Public Square on the courthouse lawn in Washington, Georgia

GHM 157-11, 1956

Next Marker